Day of the Seafarer

Winners Announced for 2016 International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards

The winners of ISWAN's International Seafarers' Welfare Awards 2016 were announced on 24th June at a high-profile ceremony held in Manila, the Philippines. The ceremony forms part of ISWAN's celebrations in the Philippines for the IMO Day of the Seafarer. The awards were presented by IMO Secretary General Mr Kitack Lim to seven recipients who have provided exceptional services for the welfare and wellbeing of seafarers.

The winners are:
• Judges' Special Award: Duckdalben International Seamen's Club
• Shipping Company of the Year: Anglo-Eastern Ship Management and MF Shipping Group
• Port of the Year: Bremerhaven
• Seafarers' Centre of the Year: Stella Maris, Barcelona
• Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year Award (organisation): Associated Marine Officers' and Seamen's Union of the Philippines (AMOSUP)
• Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year Award (individual): Reverend Stephen Miller

award winners 2015

Foto: Mrs Tatyana Tarasyk, Odessa Charity Seamen's Home; Ms Anke Wibel, Duckdalben International Seamen's Club; Mrs Christine Freytag, Bremerhaven Seafarers' Centre; Mrs Joan Macleod, Port of Halifax; Mr Jan Oltmanns, Duckdlaben International Seamen's Club.

The Welfare Personality of the Year Award is named after Dr Dierk Lindemann who sadly passed away on 17 March 2014. Dr Lindemann served as the Shipowner's Group spokesperson at the ILO and took a lead role in the adoption of the Maritime Labour Convention.

Roger Harris, ISWAN Executive Director, said of the evening:
"It has been an honour to hold the awards here in the Philippines, home to a large number of the world's seafarers. All of tonight's award winners and shortlisted candidates have made a great contribution to improving the lives of seafarers, and we are delighted to be able to celebrate with them."
The awards are generously funded by the ITF Seafarers' Trust. This year's sponsors also include Inmarsat, Wrist Ship Supply (Seafarers' Centre of the Year), Crewtoo (media sponsor), Garrets (Shipping Company of the Year), and the International Chamber of Shipping (Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year Award- Individuals and Organisations). The event is also supported by ILO, IMO and ICMA.


Jetzt per PayPal spenden

Mit Ihrer Spenden helfen Sie uns
Seeleuten aus aller Welt in ihrer
schwierigen Lebenssituation an Bord

Vielen Dank für Ihren Beitrag!



Deutsche Seemannsmission e.V.
IBAN: DE70 5206 0410 0006 4058 86
Evangelische Bank eG, Kiel

Bitte nennen Sie uns Ihre Adresse,
damit wir uns bei Ihnen bedanken
und Ihnen eine Spendenbescheinigung
zusenden können.

Hotline DSM-Care

dsm care logo
chat with chaplain
explore stations
dsm germany
dsm worldwide
Klick on the bottoms to be linked to the homepage of

Bündnis: United4Rescue

united4rescue logo
Zur Bündnis-Seite

Merkblätter der DSM
zum Corona-Virus

cover handlungsempfehlung cover merkblatt
Merkblatt Mund- und  Nasen-Bedeckung
hygienekonzept ergaenzung ffp2 wiederwendung
empfehlung Ergänzung
Wiederverwendung von FFP2 Masken für den Hausgebrauch
Zum Lesen / Dowload Abbildung anklicken


Kampagne: Fair übers Meer!

fair ueber meer 04

Zur Kampagnen-Seite

 con info  Unsere Arbeit unterstützen:

Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland logo vdr

logo seafarers trust


Vesseltracker   logo bmfdv logo bmfsfj     logo bmas  logo bg verkehr
 Evangelische Kirche
 in Deutschland
 Deutscher Reeder
 ITF-Seafarers Trust
 Bundesministerium für
 Digitales und Verkehr
 Bundesministerium für
 Familie, Senioren,
 Frauen und Jugend
 Bundesministerium für
 Arbeit und Soziales
 BG Verkehr